ALABAMA ATHLETIC COMMISSION

260 Commerce Street, 4™ Floor « MONTGOMERY, AL 36104
PHONE: 334-245-4374
FAX: 650-479-0150

PROMOTER’S RESPONSIBILITIES FOR EVENTS

1. Promoters must have all required bonds and current Alabama promoter’s license and all
other required forms completed and sent to the executive director prior to an event. Failure
to have all forms completed within the requested time period will result in a denial of the
application.

2. Submit the name of a contact person or their matchmaker and their phone numbers, when
submitting permit for the event. This will enable the INSPECTOR to contact someone to
make sure that all required items are taken care of prior to the start of the event.

TIME DEADLINES THAT MUST BE MET:

3. PERMITS for events SHALL NOT be submitted and received by the commission any later
than 30 days prior to the date of the event.
No more than ONE (1) permit will be issued for the same type of event within an
approximate 40 mile radius on the same day.

4. Complete a MATCH PERMIT form with ALL required information submitted with match
permit fee to Alabama Athletic Commission office. Promoters of any professional or
pro/am events must get their match permit with the names of the professional
fighters to the commission office the Friday prior to the commission meeting. The
names of All Professional for Mixed Martial Art Events must have been submitted to
the Mixed Martial Arts LLC the National Database the Friday prior to the
commission meeting.

5. Boxing permits MUST include the names of each contestant and their opponent, the
number of scheduled rounds for each contest and the minimum required rounds to conduct
the event. Promoter is responsible for informing contestants of any medical requirements
that they are required to have. Be sure of contestant’s age because of additional medical
requirements for fighters 37 and over.

6. Make sure that ALL contestants meet the required medical and eye exam standards
required by the state. A Negative test for HIV, Hepatitis B and Hepatitis C must be
submitted for ALL professional boxers and professional MMA fighters. If the completed
tests are not submitted the fighter will not compete. THERE WILL BE NO
EXCEPTIONS. A contestant may use the blood tests and eye exam from another state if
that test was given within 6 months. NOTE: ALL DIALATED EYE EXAMS IF
REQUIRED BY THE COMMISSION MUST BE GIVEN WITHIN A MINIMUM
OF 24 HOURS PRIOR TO ANY COMPETITION.



NOTE: NO CHANGES TO THE CARD WILL BE CONSIDERED AFTER 5:00 PM 3
DAYS PRIOR TO THE DATE OF THE EVENT. ANY REQUEST FOR CHANGES
AFTER THIS MUST BE SUBMITTED DIRECTLY TO THE CHIEF OFFICIAL FOR
THE EVENT OR THE COMMISSION APPOINTED SUPERVISOR.

7.

8.

9.

The commission office will only accept contestants’ names of fighters from the promoter
or the designated matchmaker. OPPONENTS WILL NOT be discussed with anyone but
the promoter or assigned matchmaker.

A copy of each Boxer’s Fight Fax Boxrec or MMA fighters mma.tv record must be
submitted for ALL APPROVED BOUTS within 24 hours of bout approval. If not the bout
is subject to cancellation. In the event of a last minute cancellation, the commission
appointed supervisor may waive the time limit requirement in special circumstances at
their sole discretion.
The Promoter may contact Fight Fax direct and set up an account. Fight Fax will then
email the commission a copy of that Boxer’s record when the promoter submits those
Boxers names.

FIGHT FAX: Phone: 856-396-0533; email: officialrecor figshtfax

or www.boxrec.com
MMA.TV or www.mixedmartialarts.com

EVENT INSURANCE: Event insurance must be submitted to the Athletic Commission
no later than seventy-two (72) hours prior to the start of the event, a minimum of
$20,000.00 medical and $20,000 death. Any deductible payments shall be made by the
promoter.
Failure to have the insurance submitted to the office within the 72 hours could result
in the event being cancelled.

10. NO event shall be scheduled to start later than 8:00 PM. All events must start at the

11.

scheduled time. The Chief official, or commission appointed supervisor may permit a
limited time extension of not more than twenty minutes, unless there is an emergency.
NOTE: There shall not be any prolonged delay between bouts. The only delay time
should be the scheduled intermissions. All intermissions must be approved by the
commission appointed supervisor. Intermission may not exceed twenty (20) minutes.
This intermission period is the only time any additional entertainment may occur.
Any intermissions longer than 20 minutes are subject to fines and other penalties.

No bout shall begin without a physician at ringside or cage side. An AMBULANCE

AND STATE LICENSED RINGSIDE PHYSICIAN MUST BE ON SITE, with

proper medical personnel prior to starting any bout.

NOTE: A minimum of 2 PHYSICIANS will be assigned when there are more than 14
scheduled bouts or the event is being televised live.



BOUT AND ROUND REQUIREMENTS:
12. Boxing, Mixed Martial Arts.

a. Professional Boxing- a minimum of twenty-four (24) rounds with a minimum of five
(5) bouts. A Minimum of 6 bouts should be turned in for commission approval.
Pro/Am Boxing — a minimum of twelve (12) rounds and three (3) professional bouts
and a minimum of five (5) amateur bouts. Professional bouts will follow all scheduled
amateur bout, no intermixing professional and amateur.

b. Professional and Amateur MMA bouts a minimum of twenty-four (24) rounds and
eight (8) bouts.

c. Note: ALL FIGHT FAXES OR BOXREC RECORDS ON BOXERS OR MIXED
MARTIAL ARTS COMPETITORS MUST BE SUBMITTED BY THE PROMOTER
TO THE WEBSITE.

d. Pro/Am MMA a minimum of three (3) professional and five (5) amateur bouts, or a
minimum five (5) professional bouts and three (3) amateur bouts. The professional
bouts will follow all scheduled amateur bouts, no intermixing professional and
amateur bouts.

e. MMA/Boxing events (1). All professional or all amateur; (2). Conducted in a Boxing
ring; (3). Minimum of 4 boxing and 3 MMA or 4 MMA and 3 boxing. (4). NO
intermixing bouts.

f. The Chief official or the commission appointed representative may grant a waiver of
rounds.

g. TITLE FIGHTS — Promoters must notify commission when a bout is advertised or
scheduled as a TITLE fight. ALL opponents for title fights must be approved by
commission. Debut fighters and fighters with losing records WILL NOT be
considered as opponents for a title fights.

13. It is imperative to have contracts with contestants signed as early as possible. This
means that if the fighter did not fulfill their obligation under the contract then they would
be subject to suspension instead of the promoter. Before any suspension can be issued,
the contract must be signed by the fighter and contain the name and complete address of
the fighter. MAKE sure the contract forms are the ones that are posted on the
Commission website

14. CANCELLATION OF ANY EVENT: The promoter will be responsible for payment of
ALL assigned officials in the event is cancelled within 72 hours of the date of the event.
The Promoter’s license will be suspended until ALL assigned officials have been paid



WEIGH IN PROCEDURES:

15. The contracts must be given to the Inspector prior to any contestant weighing in for the
event. Fighters not honoring signed contract may be suspended. A Fighter failing to make
the contracted weight will result in a suspension, a fine or both. If a fighter weighs in and
then refuses to fight they may be suspended.

16. WEIGH-INS: The location MUST be in an area where there is ample lighting for
Inspectors to be able to conduct weigh-in and licensing of contestants. Notify the
commission office with the time and location of weigh-in a minimum of 72 hours prior to
the event. Make sure contestants are made aware that they may be fined, suspended
or both for being late for weigh-in or failing to make weight.

17. Opponents will be weighed in together, if both are available. This makes it possible
for opponents to verify the weight of their opponent. After a fighter weighs in that
fighter may LOSE WEIGHT to make the required weight. They have up to 1 hour to lose
weight. They MAY NEVER add weight after their weight is first recorded.

18. There will be only one weigh in per event. Additional weigh-ins requested by the
Promoter will cost the promoter $100 payable to the Commission and $50 payable to
Chief Inspector.

REQUIREMENTS AT THE EVENT;

ALL INSTRUCTIONS AND/OR REQUESTS OR REQUIREMENTS MADE BY THE
ALABAMA ATHLETIC COMMISSION, THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OR THE
CHIEF OFFICIAL OR THE COMMISSION APPOINTED REPRESENTATIVE
MUST BE FOLLOWED BEFORE, DURING OR AFTER AN EVENT.

***NO EXCEPTIONS*** FAILURE TO COMPLY WILL RESULT IN AN
INDEFINITE SUSPENSION PENDING A HEARING OF THE FULL COMMISSION.

18. ALL officials will be assigned by the commission and approved by the commission.
Promoters may not at any time request specific officials, judges or commission appointed
representatives for a specific event. All decisions by the commission are final. ALL
OFFICIALS FEES WILL BE PAID BY THE PROMOTER AT THE WEIGH IN OR
THE EVENT WILL BE CANCELED.

19. The VENUE MUST provide clean and adequate dressing facilities with chairs for ALL
Fighters and Officials. Opponents must be in separate dressing areas. If this can’t be
provided Venues WILL NOT be permitted to host the event.

20. SECURITY: There MUST be a minimum of 1 uniformed Police Officer at the event.
No event will start without a uniformed police officer present. All other security
personnel should be able to be identified.

21. PROMOTER MUST PROVIDE GLOVES FOR ALL EVENTS ALL GLOVES
MUST BE APPROVED BY INSPECTOR

(1). MMA EVENTS:

a) MMA grappling gloves must weigh minimum of 40z maximum of 8oz.

b) Provide Red gloves for Red Corner and Blue Gloves for Blue Corner. If gloves are
other than RED or BLUE tape for outside of gloves at the wrist with RED or
BLUE duct tape.

¢) Gloves may not have tears and must be in very good condition. Gloves should not



be used for more than 2 or 3 events. Gloves not approved by Inspector will be
marked by the Inspector so that they are not used for any future events.



22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

29.

30.

31.

32.

33.

d) Must have a minimum amount of gloves for the event. There should be enough
gloves to be prepared to have a minimum of 3 bouts ready to go.

¢. Boxing Gloves: 80z gloves for 112 thru 147; 100z gloves 148 thru Super HW

ALL CONTESTANTS MUST WEAR GLOVES PROVIDED BY PROMOTER

Female contestants MUST send proof of a negative pregnancy test from a certified
laboratory or physician to the commission office within 10 days of the event. Any
pregnancy tests given on site will not be accepted and the contestant will NOT
participate. A pregnancy test within the 10 day time frame may be accepted at ringside
by the commission appointed representative or Chief official.

Inform all contestants, seconds and managers who need licenses, to fill them out prior to
coming to the weigh-in. This will expedite the time at the weigh-in. ALL CORNER
PEOPLE MUST BE LICENSED.

Any fighter, manager, or second listed as suspended in MMA LLC (the National MMA
Database), Fight Fax (The National Boxing Database), or any other database or by any
state or tribal commission may not participate in any event in the state of Alabama.

The ring or cage must meet commission requirements and there must someone standing
by the door of the cage during the bout.

There must be a separate barrier separating the ring or cage from the audience. If
there is no solid barrier between officials and crowd then there must be a uniformed
police officer stationed at cage side or ringside. Venues not able to provide this type of
barrier or security could be prevented from hosting an event.

Notify the arena where the event is occurring that all beverages must be served in paper,
aluminum or plastic containers and all food served on paper plates with plastic utensils.

Make sure there are seats for judges at boxing events.
Must supply plastic water bottles, buckets and towels in each corner.

Supply a garbage bag or a disposable area for each dressing room, each corner of the ring
and all entrances for any cage.

Have a cleaning substance in a spray type container to be used to clean blood and
debris in cage or ring. (A solution of 10% Bleach and 90% water is an acceptable
solution). Provide personnel with towels and mop available to dry up wet spots on
ring or cage floor.

The entire cage or ring floor must be cleaned with the above substance during ALL
intermissions and when there is any noticeable blood or sweat on floor for ALL
MMA bouts.

Ticket manifest should be available for the commission appointed representative at
the end of the event or submitted to the commission office within seventy-two (72)
hours after the event.



34. A 5% tax on gross ticket sales will be paid to the Athletic Commission of the State of
Alabama. When submitting report after the event the promoter MUST submit: (1). the
ticket manifest; (2) ALL sold ticket stubs; and (3) ALL unsold tickets. Any tickets not
accounted for will be assessed the 5% tax.

35. All COMPLIMENTARY tickets must be printed in advance, by the printer and shown
on the ticket manifest.

36. All assigned officials’ money MUST be given to Chief official or commission appointed
representative at weigh-in. If payment is made by check and check is not valid, the
promoter’s license will be suspended immediately until all financial matters are cleared
and all payments have been made.

37. The promoter will withhold payment of any purse when requested to do so by the Chief
official or commission appointed representative for non performance or for failing any
initial drug test. The Chief official or commission appointed representative will notify the
promoter and the contestant of when and how to make payments following any possible
hearing.

38. Promoters or their delegates shall be restricted from consuming any alcoholic beverages
during the event and must be available for the Chief official or commission appointed
representative during the event. The Inspector will only deal with the promoter or their
delegate at an event.

*** ALL EVENTS WHETHER PRO BOXING, PRO MMA, OR PRO-AM EVENTS
SHALL BE VIDEO RECORDED IN A MANNER ACCEPTABLE TO THE
COMMISSION AND SUBMITTED TO THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR NO MORE
THAN 10 DAYS AFTER THE EVENT. FAILURE TO DO SO WITHIN THE
ALLOTED TIME FRAME MAY RESULT IN DISCIPLINARY ACTION.*#**

39. Provide Electrolyte drinks so that fighters can replenish and rehydrate immediately after
their bout.

40. Inform any Disc Jockey or anyone playing music at the event that there will be NO
PROFANITY or ETHNICS verses played at anytime during the event. The Promoter’s
license is subject to suspension if this occurs.

41. Promoter must provide Anti Bacterial soap for each event.

42. MediaGuidelines: Please refer to Admin. Code.

43. Security: Please refer to Admin. Code.



PROCEDURES FOR SUBMITTING ALL MMA EVENTS TO MIXED
MARTIAL ARTS LLC - (OFFICIAL RECORD KEEPER).

In order to officially register your event, go to: http://abc.mixedmartialarts.com and Click the
Request Promoters Credentials link This takes you to
http://abc.mixedmartialarts.com/?fa=login.Requestcreds After you have registered with Mixed
Martial Arts LLC, you will be provided with details on registering your events, developing
your bouts, and the fee structure. This system will be a benefit to you in the future. Since
Mixed Martial Arts LLC is the only official mixed martial arts registry, it is imperative for the
safety and progress of the sport, that all information is supplied to and received from their
database.

1. Events are not considered official until approved by the commission.

2. A permit form listing the location date, time and promoter’s information must be submitted with
the permit fee to the Commission office no earlier than 30 days prior to the date of
the event.

3. The promoter will be notified if that date is available and it will be assigned to them for their
event. In the event 2 events arrive at the same time for same vicinity the commission will select
the one event that is permitted by coin toss.

4. ONCE EVENT has been approved by the Chief official or commission appointed representative
the PROMOTER must register the event with Mixed Martial Arts LLC, this is the recognized
National Database for MMA. This event will then be placed into the list of events for approval.
If a BOUT is denied, remarks will be placed as to why it was denied.

5. Information needed from fighter to enter name into database for approval of bout:
a) Fighter’s National ID number if they have one. b)
Fighter’s First, Middle, and Last Name
¢) Fighter’s Date of Birth (Entering a false DOB, will result in a suspension

and possible criminal charges) Bout will be denied if no Date of Birth for fighter. d)
Fighter’s height and weight

6. *"MANDATORY NO NATIONAL ID NO FIGHT.

7. ALL PROFESSIONAL fighter’s names must be listed on the official bout sheet in the National
Database for Commission approval. The names MUST be submitted no later than the FRIDAY
prior to the regular scheduled Commission meeting.

8. ALL AMATEUR fighters and their opponents names must be submitted to the respective
National Database no later than the MONDAY prior to the date of the event. Evidence of this

submission may be required for all Pro-Am fight cards.

9. A MAXIMUM OF 20 BOUTS MAY BE SCHEDULED.



10. NO Alternate or Stand By names will be accepted without approval by the Chief official
or commission appointed representative.

11. NO CHANGES TO THE CARD WILL BE CONSIDERED AFTER 5:00 PM 3
DAYS PRIOR TO THE DATE OF THE EVENT. ANY REQUEST FOR
CHANGES AFTER THIS MUST BE SUBMITTED DIRECTLY TO THE CHIEF
OFFICIAL OR COMMISSION APPOINTED REPRESENTATIVE.

12. Amateur MMA or boxing fighters 35 years old and older MUST compete in the Masters
35 and Over Division for a minimum of 3 fights. Be aware of any contestant’s age
because of additional medical requirements.

13. MediaGuidelines: No media will be permitted into the cage until cleared by the Chief
Inspector. This includes any and all photographers.

14. Security: Please refer to Admin. Code.

AFFIDAVIT
I certify that I have reviewed and will comply with the State Laws and Rules governing
the Promoter license and practice for which the application has been submitted.

Signature of applicant

State of ,
County of , AL
Subscribed and sworn before me this day of , 20

(seal)

Notary Public official signature

My commission expires







