APA-3
Revised 1/2018

CERTIFICATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
FILED WITH THE LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY
OTHNI LATHRAM, DIRECTOR

(Pursuant to Code of Alabama 1975, S 41-22-6, as amended).

| certify that the attached is/are correct copy/copies of rule/s as promulgated and
adopted on the 19 Day of August 2022, and filed with the agency secretary on
the 19" day of August 2022.

AGENCY NAME: Alabama Athletic Commission

X Amendment New Repeal (Mark appropriate space)

Rule No. 165-X-9 (If amended rule, give specific paragraph, subparagraphs,
etc., being amended)

Rule Title: Complaint and Disciplinary Procedures

ACTION TAKE: State whether the rule was adopted without changes from
the proposal due to written or oral comments.

NOTICE OF INTENDED ACTION PUBLISHED IN VOLUME XL, ISSUE NO. 7
DATED April 29, 2022.

Statutory Rulemaking Authority: Code of Alabama, 1975, § 41-9-1027

AUG 1 0 207

Kejth E. Warren

Executive Director
(NOTE: In accordance with S 41-22-6(b), as amended, a proposed rule is
required to be certified within 90 days after completion of the notice.)



ALABAMA ATHLETIC COMMISSION
ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

CHAPTER 165-X-9 Complaint and Disciplinary Actions

165-X-9-.01 Complaints.

(1)

(2)

(3)

Any person may file a written and signed complaint with
the commission alleging a violation of Ala. Code Sections
41-9-1029 to 41-9-1037, inclusive. The complaint shall
be made in the manner prescribed by the board and shall
be referred by the Commission to a standing investigative
committee, consisting of a Commission member, the execu-
tive director, the attorney for the Commission, and an
investigator or chief inspector of the Commission. If
the investigative committee finds that no probable cause
exists, the investigative committee may dismiss the
charges and prepare a statement in writing, detailing the
reasons for the decision.
If the investigative committee finds that there is proba-
ble cause that a violation has been committed, the Com-
mission shall initiate an administrative proceeding. If
the commission determines a person has violated any pro-
vision of Ala. Code Sections 41-9-1029 to 41-9-1037, in-
clusive, the Commission may do any of the following:
a. Issue a cease-and-desist order.
b. Suspend or revoke a license.
c. Impose an administrative fine or not more than ten
thousand dollars ($10,000) per violation.
The commission may petition the circuit court of the
county where the violation occurred to enforce a cease-

and-desist order and to collect any assessed fine.



Authoxr: Shane T. Sears

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §41-9-1024.

History: New Rule: Filed May 1, 2020; effective July 20, 2020.
Amended: Filed August 19, 2022; effective October 15, 2022.



